‘Xinjiang Through My Lens’










Wonderful photographs from Xinjiang.

This 14 day photography project was sponsored by China Radio International (CRI) and The Information Office of the Government of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region. There were 14 photographers and reporters from the East including Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Turkey, Iran, Nigeria, Kenya, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Pakistan.

Autonomous Regions are provincial governments in China but with more legislative rights. They have a higher population of a particular minority ethnic group. China has 5 autonomous regions: Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Tibet (Xizang), and Xinjiang.

Xinjiang has a population of 21 million people with 60 percent ethnic minorities such as Uygur, Han, Kazak, Hui, Mongolian, Kirgiz, Xibe, Tajik, Ozbek, Manchu, Daur, Tatar, and Russian. It is bordered by Mongolia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kirgizstan, and Tajikistan.

It has five autonomous prefectures for four ethnic groups: Kazak, Hui, Kirgiz, and Mongolian; six autonomous counties and 43 ethnic townships. Xinjiang major religions are Islam, Buddhism (including Tibetan Buddhism), Protestantism, Catholicism and Taoism.

The cities photographed in this project were: Urumqi, Turpan, Ili Kazakh Autonomous Region, Altan, Burqin, Korla, Kasgar, and Aksu.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s